A Letter To Mike Modano

 I hand-delivered this note to Mr. Modano before a practice in Frisco . I have chosen to share this with you because I think we all should have let Mr. Modano know how much he means to us all . I intended this to be as short as possible while still conveying the message that I wanted to deliver . Let me know what you think .

 Mr. Modano ,

 I know I am simply one of millions of fans of yours but I felt compelled to write this letter to you because of the uncertainty of next season .

 You have done so much for all of Texas since Our Stars moved here from Minnesota . Your contributions have been enormous .

 There was no ice surface in all of the Dallas / Fort Worth metroplex before Our Dallas Stars moved here that hockey could be played on . That has changed massively – and for the better . While I was growing up , I never had the opportunity to play hockey but now , young men from Texas are being drafted into the NHL – and that does not even count the young women who are able to secure college hockey scholarships . My daughters now have the opportunities that I never had . I thank you for that . You have paved the way for many future generations of hockey players – both men and women .

 Your individual accomplishments alone have secured you a place in the Hockey Hall Of Fame and yet that is not even enough to thank you for what you have done for Texas hockey . You may not have brought hockey to Texas single-handedly , but you made it thrive . You made it exciting . You made us want to watch . You made us want to be fans . You grew hockey here with your actions on ice . You built charities here and contributed to the community .

 If for any reason at all you do not return to play for Our Dallas Stars next season , please remember that we – as individuals and as a state – will always appreciate what you have done for the sport of hockey in Texas .

 I am certain you receive many letters from fans telling you how great of a player you are but this is the only way I could conceive of to convey to you my deepest and most sincere thanks .

 Thank you for all that you have done Mr. Modano . Texas and I both owe you a debt of gratitude that we could never repay .

~ by Adam on April 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
