A Letter To Jere Lehtinen

 I delivered this letter to Mr. Lehtinen before a practice in Frisco as well . This is a little more personal to me than the one I composed to Mr. Modano (for reasons you will understand when you read it) . I again tried to keep it as short as possible . I was pleased that after the practice ended , he did come out and take a little bit of extra time with me . I do not really care if he remembers me , I just wanted him to know that he was , is and always will be greatly appreciated .

 Mr. Lehtinen ,

  I know I am but one of many fans of yours , from only one of many countries in which you have many fans , but I felt compelled to write this letter to you to let you know how much you have meant to my family and myself over the many years you have played hockey for Our Dallas Stars . I felt obligated to send this letter to you now in light of the uncertainties of next season . I truly fear your departure from Our Stars no matter when or why that eventuality may come .

 You have been an inspiration for us all in the way that you play . Your on-ice example of doing the “little things” and receiving little to no recognition has truly inspired me to convey that message to my children and also apply it to  my job as well . I know that you have been awarded three Frank J. Selke Trophies and many other accolades as well , but you are not thanked after each shift for performing the same way as you did when you were awarded those accolades .

 Your consistent hard work where ever you may be on the ice – no matter what the situation – is truly admirable . I know that sometimes I have felt like giving up in my job , but it seems that you never do .

 You may never have intended to impact the lives of people who you have only met casually but you certainly have – and I thank you for it . You are truly a shining example to every “blue-collar worker” everywhere of how to do your job , even when your job is not as glorious or glamorous as others’ jobs may be . Your hard work all over the ice seems to go unnoticed far too often . I do make a conscious effort to point out your excellent work in every game . I have learned that the “little things” add up to big things in a short amount of time .

 Thank you for being the best you know how to be .

 You have been and always will be one of my heroes .

 Thank you for taking the time to read this .

~ by Adam on April 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
